Hpfp... low cold start fuel pressure and low fuel rail prssure.

E92N54

May 9, 2024
Hey guys im pretty new to the n54 world (bought my car 3 weeks ago) and im already having issues. I'm in a dilemma where I believe my hpfp went but I'm not sure how to check the pressures coming from each individual pump. I don't have mhd or that would make my life easier. I'm curious if there is a way to know for certain. Also if I upgrade my hpfp would I need a tune or would it be fine. I'm currently on a stage 1 dinan tune.
Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

E92N54

May 9, 2024
P0301 Cylinder 1 misfire, P0302 Cylinder 1 misfire, P0303 Cylinder 3 misfire, P15DF Cold start fuel pressure too low (bank 1), P0302C Fuel rail pressure, Minimum pressure fallen below (bank 1)

swellengear

Lurker
Sep 3, 2023
Swellendam, South Africa
Ride
'09 BMW 135i
Generic codes..... It looks like it may well be your hpfp, and the misfires are just symptoms of that. However, it could also be the low pressure pump, which is starving the hpfp. Before throwing parts at it, I would get it diagnosed with a scanner that reads BMW specific codes, and ideally something like INPA/ISTA that can read your live fuel pressures. Low pressure fuel pump should be putting out 55-70psi. HPFP should be around 750psi at idle, and upwards of 1500psi at WOT. Hope that helps a bit, and keep us posted.

wheela

Captain
Jun 4, 2021
Twin Cities, MN
Ride
2015 e84 X1 35i Msport
Interesting to me that all your codes are related to bank 1. If the issue was your HPFP or LPFP, I'd expect the codes/misfires to be peppered across both banks.

Since they aren't, I suspect you have a leaky injector(s) somewhere in bank 1. That would create the low fuel pressure at start up (it leaks out through an injector), and the misfires.