Spark plug ceramic broke off - Piston Damage?

Bigfwop

Lurker
Mar 13, 2019
Fort Myers
Ride
e92 335i
As the title suggests, I encountered a Broken piston ceramic sheath/shield as shown below.

image0.jpeg

initially encountered misfires on cyl 4 on WOT however Car ran fine if I didn't go into boost.

Checked all wiring coils and plugs on cycl4 and low and behold about half of the ceramic sheath was missing. (Explains the arching/misfiring.)
-Purchased a Borescope to asses any damage and took these photos. valves looked perfect however can't say the same for the piston.
I'm not experienced to know if this is catastrophic.
-I am not sure But can imagine that it is resiude/damage from the ceramic.. I would also think that the ceramic would have gotten obliterated but much is left to be addressed here. I'm wondering if this will go away or if the piston is totally F'd. I'm going to do a compression test in the mean-time however any advice/insight would put me at ease. Thanks in advance.
WIN_20200629_18_40_34_Pro.jpg

WIN_20200629_18_54_55_Pro.jpg

WIN_20200629_18_57_09_Pro.jpg

Bigfwop

Lurker
Mar 13, 2019
Fort Myers
Ride
e92 335i
Update #1 compression test came back perfect and holds.
Putting new spark plug and replacing coil.
next step I’m thinking is putting a fuel cleaner to see if it’ll come off.

Attachments

• 7CBA52C5-EFB6-40AA-BBDB-649799614AEC.jpeg
    7CBA52C5-EFB6-40AA-BBDB-649799614AEC.jpeg
    249.6 KB · Views: 59

b4llistic

Corporal
Nov 22, 2018
Ride
BMW N54
EDIT: Thanks your finding and reading my post. Unfortunately, Spoolstreet is no longer a neutral platform where we can have honest discussions on subjects and products freely.
For this reason I have deleted all information I posted on the forums.

Last edited:
Reactions: Bigfwop

matreyia

Major
Apr 19, 2017
Ride
335i e93